Senators Who Voted Against Ratification of UN Disabilities Treaty

During the George W. Bush administration, his State department under Condi Rice, negotiated a treaty with the United Nations that essentially codified for the world, our own American with Disabilities Act, to prevent discrimination of the disabled for all nations that signed the treaty.

Although Bush’s administration was unable to complete negotiations while he was in office, it was finished by President Obama’s administration.

All treaties signed by the President must be ratified by a two-thirds majority in the Senate. As I said, this treaty merely gave the same protections to disabled people around the world that disabled people have here. However, those on the extreme right-wing paranoid Tea Party faction, led by Utah Senator Mike Lee, came up with a preposterous position that signing such a treaty would jeopardize our sovereignty. That is of course purely unfounded bullshit.

This treaty was supported by veterans associations across the country, former President George H. W. Bush, several prominent Republicans both in and out of office, and former Republican Senate Leader and Presidential Candidate Bob Dole, was there with his wife Elizabeth Dole, while 38 Republicans basically gave him a finger as he sat there in his wheel chair to vote against ratification.

It was a sad day for him, those who support the rights of the disabled from being discriminated against, and the nation as a whole.

Here is the list of each of the 38 Senators who voted against ratification. Let these heartless, uncaring, inhuman scum know what you think.

Alexander (R-TN)

Blunt (R-MO)

Boozman (R-AR)

Burr (R-NC)

Chambliss (R-GA)

Coats (R-IN)

Coburn (R-OK)

Cochran (R-MS)

Corker (R-TN)

Cornyn (R-TX)

Crapo (R-ID)

DeMint (R-SC)

Enzi (R-WY)

Graham (R-SC)

Grassley (R-IA)

Hatch (R-UT)

Heller (R-NV)

Hoeven (R-ND)

Hutchison (R-TX)

Inhofe (R-OK)

Isakson (R-GA)

Johanns (R-NE)

Johnson (R-WI)

Kyl (R-AZ)

Lee (R-UT)

McConnell (R-KY)

Moran (R-KS)

Paul (R-KY)

Portman (R-OH)

Risch (R-ID)

Roberts (R-KS)

Rubio (R-FL)

Sessions (R-AL)

Shelby (R-AL)

Thune (R-SD)

Toomey (R-PA)

Vitter (R-LA)

Wicker (R-MS)

A few of these Senators won’t be back in January, but many will. Don’t ever let them forget this vote and make sure everyone remembers when it’s their turn to run for re-election. These bastards don’t deserve to sit in our Senate.