46 Senators Who Voted Against the Newtown Victims


It was a simple proposition on April 17th, 2013 on Senate Amendment 715 to Senate Bill 649 to proceed to a vote to decide if this country needs to expand universal background checks to make it more difficult for convicted criminals, suspected terrorists and mentally disturbed from easily purchasing guns from gun shows and the internet. It was a watered down version of what currently 92% of the nation wants. It had loopholes in it you could drive an Abrams Tank through, but it was a start. It was filibustered so there was no up or down vote on it. 54 Senators voted to proceed to a vote, 46 said no. As I have posted in the past, here’s the list of those who are more beholden to campaign financing from the NRA despite the fact that NRA support usually doesn’t get you the support of the voting public. Some voted out of fear of losing their seats in upcoming elections. Some Democrats voted to uphold the filibuster. They should be primaried.  Senator President Harry Reid did change his vote to uphold the filibuster so he can invoke a Senate Rule that will allow him to put it back on the floor for another vote. However, he should have thought about that a few months ago when he backed off on filibuster reform.

Four Republicans voted to proceed to a vote and should be commended for this act. I’ll list their names after the names of the cowards for voted to uphold the filibuster. Not only am I listing names, I am listing their Twitter Account names and their Senate phone numbers.

These people should be required to explain their votes to Gabby Giffords and then spend a week in Newtown and explain to the victim’s families their votes. They should also be made to view the photos of the crime scene. They should be treated as Germans were treated after the War ended when they were made to see up close the result of their complacency and lack of care for human beings.

These people need to be contacted and need to hear what you think so it’s fresh in their mind if and when they get another chance to vote on this.

If the name has a “$” it means the voted to filibuster all debate on gun safety reform on the first vote and lost.

If the name has a “*” it means they were part of the original 14 who threatened to filibuster early on to show support for the NRA merchants of death.

13 have two strikes against them. What should we do to those who get the third?

Lamar Alexander (R-TN)             @SenAlexander                            (202) 224-4944

Kelly Ayotte (R-NH)                     @KellyAyotte                                 (202) 224-3324

John Barrasso (R-WY)             @SenJohnBarrasso                      (202) 224-6441

Max Baucus (D-MT)                    Unknown                                        (202) 224-2651

Mark Begich (D-AK) $                 @SenatorBegich                            (202) 224-3004

Roy Blunt (R-MO) $                     @RoyBlunt                                     (202) 224-5721

John Boozman (R-AR) $              @JohnBoozman                            (202) 224-4843

Richard Burr (R-NC) *                  @SenatorBurr                               (202) 224-3154

Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)             @SaxbyChambliss                        (202) 224-3521

Daniel Coats (R-IN) $ *                @SenDanCoats                             (202) 224-5623

Tom Coburn (R-OK)                     @TomCoburn                                (202) 224-5754

Thad Cochran (R-MS) $               @SenThadCochran                       (202) 224-5054

Bob Corker (R-TN)                       Unknown                                        (202) 224-2934

John Cornyn (R-TX) $                  Unknown                                        (202) 224-2742

Mike Crapo (R-ID) $ *                   @MikeCrapo                                  (202) 224-6142

Ted Cruz (R-TX) $ *                     @SenTedCruz                                (202) 224-5922

Michael Enzi (R-WY) $ *               @SenatorEnzi                                (202) 224-3424

Deb Fischer (R-NE) $                   @SenatorFischer                           (202) 224-6551

Jeff Flake (R-AZ)                          @JeffFlake                                     (202) 224-4521

Lindsey Graham (R-SC)               @GrahamBlog                               (202) 224-5972

Chuck Grassley (R-IA) $               @ChuckGrassley                           (202) 224-3744

Orrin Hatch (R-UT) $                     @OrrinHatch                                 (202) 224-5251

Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)                  @SenatorHeitkamp                      (202) 224-2043

Dean Heller (R-NV)                        @SenDeanHeller                           (202) 224-6244

John Hoeven (R-ND)                      @SenJohnHoeven                        (202) 224-2551

James Inhofe (R-OK) $ *                 @JimInhofe                                   (202) 224-4721

Johnny Isakson (R-GA)                  @SenatorIsakson                          (202) 224-3643

Mike Johanns (R-NE)                  @Mike_Johanns                           (202) 224-4224

Ron Johnson (R-WI) $ *                 @SenRonJohnson                         (202) 224-5323

Mike Lee (R-UT) $ *                       @SenMikeLee                                (202) 224-5444

Mitch McConnell (R-KY) $ *           @McConnellPress                         (202) 224-2541

Jerry Moran (R-KS) $ *                   @JerryMoran                                (202) 224-6521

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) $                @LisaMurkowski                          (202) 224-6665

Rand Paul (R-KY) $ *                     @SenRandPaul                              (202) 224-4343

Rob Portman (R-OH) $                   @RobPortman                               (202) 224-3353

Mark Pryor (D-AR) $                       @SenMarkPryor                            (202) 224-2353

Harry Reid (D-NV)                           @SenatorReid                               (202) 224-3542

James Risch (R-ID) $ *                     @SenatorRisch                              (202) 224-2752

Pat Roberts (R-KS) $ *                    @SenPatRoberts                           (202) 224-4774

Marco Rubio (R-FL) $ *                    @MarcoRubio                               (202) 224-3041

Tim Scott (R-SC)                          @SenatorTimScott                        (202) 224-6121

Jeff Sessions (R-AL) $                     @SenatorSessions                        (202) 224-4124

Richard Shelby (R-AL) $                  @SenShelbyPress                         (202) 224-5744

John Thune (R-SD)                       @SenJohnThune                           (202) 224-4254

David Vitter (R-LA) $                        @DavidVitter                                 (202) 224-4623

Roger Wicker (R-MS)                       @SenatorWicker                           (202) 224-6253

Republicans who voted to proceed to a vote:

Susan Collins (R-ME)                      Unknown                                        (202) 224-2523

Mark Kirk (R-IL)                               @SenatorKirk                                 (202) 224-2854

John McCain (R-AZ)                        @SenJohnMcCain                         (202) 224-2235

Patrick Toomey (R-PA)                    @SenToomey                                (202) 224-4254

This isn’t over yet. The President said it himself after the vote. He also quite correctly has instructed all of you to get active and hold your representatives accountable. If they only hear from the few gun worshippers and the people who hand them their bribes from the NRA, why should they vote for what 92% of the nation actually wants. Government of the People, by the People and for the People does require the People to be active. This is up to you.

This marathon is not over.